How are you studying coding?

Hi everyone,

I just started the free code camp and have finished the first 10 hours exercise of Front end development. I have seen new terms such as HTML, JQuery, CSS etc. I have understood how to code (such as make a green border around the image or make the text centered); however I am not sure if I fully understand the characteristics of HTML, JQuery, CSS. Therefore I am wondering how everybody else who newly started studying the coding is digesting the concept of the coding terms.

I would appreciate if you can share your learning methods!

Thanks!!

1 Like

I studied a little at MozillaDevelopersNetwork before coming here.
If you want to understand basic stuff about Html,CSS,JavaScript like what an element is ,what an attribute,value is (html) etc then i’d definitely recommend MozillaDevelopersNetwork,as long as you are fine with reading large chunks of texts.

1 Like

Hi, I’m also new to coding and find doing multiple sources helps–they all provide a few different pieces of the puzzle. Along with Free Code Camp I’m working through the exercises on Codeacademy, and found some Udemy courses on Stackskills (via a sale in the BoingBoing store) that define what elements, attributes, etc. actually are, which is helpful for understanding why they work together the way they do. And for me (in the middle of my portfolio project right now), sometimes even when I thought I understood an HTML/CSS concept, it was only seeing what worked and didn’t when I wrote the actual code that really made me get it for the first time.

Well, I started out on Khan Academy, then I went to codecademy, udacity, and Code School before I found FCC. However, the best website I found was Microsoft Virtual Academy.

1 Like