How can I prevent myself from learning bad js?

How can I prevent myself from learning bad js?

Hi. Yesterday I had a good time listening Kyle Simpson on JSJabber (episode 220). He explains how JS use is sometime spoiled by trying to make it behave like what it is not. I have very little knowledge of JS, a snippet on the udacity intro nanodegree and skimming Eloquent Javascrip. I just started FCC after the Udacity intro course (which btw is very good)

I wonder how can I avoid bad teaching of JS. Apparently classes are not right in JS, is class a keyword for bad JS maybe?

There’s no yard stick to measure Javascript quality against, unfortunately.
However, you can identify the type of constructs that you are talking about, which try to accommodate programmers coming from other languages, by some common patterns:
Anything that’s just a wrapper around existing functionality and is named like something similar in other languages, is probably unnecessary.

Classes are an example of that, although classes in Javascript are not the same thing as in, e.g. Java or C++. They don’t provide inheritance, but delegation instead, which can cause subtle bugs if one doesn’t know the difference.
Also, the new functional programming trend, for which JS is well suited, does away with OOP altogether and the consensus seems to be that this is probably a good thing.

Another example is types. JS has them, but only under the hood. Forcing JS to do type checking when not needing them is one of its greatest advantages, is clearly a sign of programmers preferring different languages. “So I have to use Javascript, boss? Well fine, but let’s make it behave like Java first.”