How do I learn without cheating myself?

Hey everyone,

I’m new to fee code camp, and loving it so far. I have a small background in coding (associates in software development) but still trying to get to the point of being employable.

My questing here is, how do I learn without cheating myself? I feel like I look everything up and can barely type any code without google searching how to do something. (This is all I did through school as well…)

I’m working through the front end course and just got to the the portfolio project. I don’t know jquery besides what we went over in the few beginner lessons. I wanted to add an effect using jquery for when I hover over thumbnail images to essentially drop the opacity, and pop up text for the tools i used to complete the project displayed in the thumbnail.

Basically I feel like I’m cheating myself by googling that, finding someone elses stack overflow, and re typing in the code someone answered with to make it work with my classes and id’s.

How do I do learn correctly and not just google everything and copy someone else’s code?

1 Like

Google is a programmer’s best friend, the fact you use it so much shows that you go looking for the answer instead of asking for it to be given to you. Practice makes perfect as they say. The more you work at it the easier it will become. That time frame is different for different people, but putting in the hard work now is only going to pay off later. Don’t be discouraged, web development is a vast ecosystem that makes even seasoned developer’s heads spin. When you do come across a stack overflow post that you have decided to use, I’d recommend not moving on until you understand why that piece of code is working. It can be incredibly painstaking but there really is no short-cutting the process. When you get down the community is always here to pick you back up.

4 Likes