How do you test your code?

Hi all :wave:

I’m in the middle of interviews stages and I’ve been asked to test my code, which is something that I have never done before in my previous companies and I’m very unfamiliar with it.

I was looking for advice on how to do it, how does it work, if you could share resources that would also be great and anything I should be aware of about the topic.

Thanks for your help :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Without language/library/framework information, we can’t really point you to something specific.

But there are various ways to test apps. Unit tests are often the most basic, but you can also do things like integration testing, end-to-end testing, load testing, etc.

If I were you, I’d do a deep dive on unit testing to at least get the basics.

I haven’t done it yet (it didn’t exist when I did FCC) but there is a certificate that deals with these things.

1 Like

Of course, I was talking about automated tests. There are also things like regression tests that you can do manually. The topic of “testing” is a broad one.

1 Like

Hi @JoeMessi !

Here are a couple of articles that can help introduce you to unit testing.

Hope that helps!

1 Like

In general there are 3 major ways of testing:

• unit testing: are the kind of test where you test your logic/functionality in isolation.
  • integration testing: where you test how different pieces fits together.
  • E2E testing: (end to end) the test that aims to simulate how your potential user/client will use the software.

Then there are many more depending on the fields and area you are working on (like stress test).

Since you didn’t mention a technology stack it’s impossible to tell you “how”, but since it’s for an interview in general what the want to see is a sort of TDD (test driven development).

So you lay down your requirements as tests, and make sure your code passes those checks.