How to be a real backend developer

Hello!

I am 25 years old. I graduated from medicine a few months ago.

My goal is being a real, good backend developer.

Previous course history:

I took an Udemy course. “The web developer bootcamp” - Colt Steele.

It was good but every topics were beginner level. And It was an outdated course. It did not teach anything about ES6 and beyond.

It was a general introduction about HTML, CSS, JS, Jquery, Node, Express, Git.

But it skipped node.js and started directly via Express. And it did not tell anything about MVC. And it taught node js wrong way. It was made in call back hell.

My goals:

• Learning a backend language deeply.
  • Learning modern, good practices. MVC, clean code etc.
  • Being able to develop a software from scratch.

I need a roadmap or guide. Because taking udemy courses, reading books etc. do not help. It only takes you from beginner 01 level and makes you beginner 02 level. What should I do. I need some short term and long term targets.

I can study/work 8 + hours daily.

Thank you.

1 Like
2 Likes

Your best bet is to just jump in the deep end and make something semi-complicated.

If you want to learn Node and Express specifically, MVC is not particularly important. I tend to adopt a similar pattern in my Node apps, but it is just a pattern, not a law. If you want much stricter MVC, Rails is a good place to start.

The learn node and have some good example projects to work on, the freeCodeCamp sections Apis And Microservices Certification and Information Security And Quality Assurance Certification are good places to start. It begins by getting you tho think about your backend as an API server that spits out JSON (which helps with most of the backend concepts without having to worry about styling or templates). Then the info sec section introduces concepts such as security, authentication and testing.