How to Write Less Broken Code

As we all know, I’m a professional dev and I write broken code.

I have found some ways to write less broken code though!

I apologize in advance for a somewhat lengthy post. It is mostly pictures of the same piece of paper and some code snippits, so I hope it isn’t to long of a read.

BLUF: Sketch out a plan with pencil and paper before you start coding!

Lets talk about the following challenge. WARNING! The challenge is somewhat technical, but it is representative of an actual function I needed to write.

You are given an array of integers offsets broken into numelements chunks of length elemsize. We call these chunks elements. Create a new array blockoffsets where the integers are permuted so that elements are interlaced by blocksize. That is to say, the first integer in the first blocksize elements will be next to each other, then the second integer in the first blocksize elements and so on. Pad the final block with copies of data from the last element.

Whew, that sounds messy in words. Lets make a small example.

If I have

offsets = [10, 11, 11, 12, 13, 13, 14, 14, 15, 15, 16, 16, 17, 17, 18]
numelements = 8
elemsize = 2
numblocks = 2
blocksize = 5

the desired output is

blockoffsets = [10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 15, 16, 17, 17, 17, 16, 17, 18, 18, 18]

It’s still a bit tricky to understand. Here is a diagram:

# In this 1D example, the offsets are given by
# 
#  ________________________________________________________________________________________
# |  x --  x  |  x -- x  |  x -- x  |  x -- x  |  x -- x  |  x -- x  |  x -- x  |  x  -- x |
# | 10 -- 11  | 11   12  | 12   13  | 13   14  | 14   15  | 15   16  | 16   17  |  17   18 |
# 
# We block elements into groups of 5:
#  ________________________________________________________________________________________
# |                   block 0:                            |         block 1:               |