I Accidentally Got A Job As A WordPress Dev. Help?

Context
Long story short, my hobby is content writing, along side with learning html and css for a few months now . I’m a complete novice to be honest. Technically, i was taking a gap year after High School and was looking for internships or jobs where were generally related to content writers etc. Got one in Dec, finished in end of Jan.

The current one, i managed to get was actually described as me writing the content for their website, i had assumed they’ll have me only write the blog’s etc. But today my boss just told me i’ll be handling the WordPress thingy. Not going to lie, but I’ve heard what WordPress is but never used it. Their current site is developed using WordPress, now they only need a person to manage that.and improve it further.

Actual Question
Anyways, I’m currently starting off learning it and WordPress actually makes me question why i stressed about html and css, i love back end more, so i wanted to ask if i dropped focusing on the front end, but left it on WordPress due to its theme thing. and focus on java script etc basically back end. Is that a way forward? or should i focus on other front end stuff and then later shift my interest to back end. I’m still a novice, other then html,css, and a single css framework i’ve not done alot in front end.

The job info is rather irrelevant to my question but i wanted to give you the context, and hope that, i accidentally got a technical position without me knowing. So ignorance is bliss, in my case. My boss mentioned he had seen my ugly looking html and css pages and thought i’ll make the cut, course they’re paying me below average but it doesn’t matter, i’ll get a good enough experience letter out of this.