Getting a 'modern' dev job after years as a wordpress dev

Hi everyone,

I’ve been a Wordpress developer for about 10 year, sometimes for an agency, sometimes freelance. Doing this generally involves turning a design into a website, coding the front end from scratch, using PHP to customise bits of Wordpress if I need extra functionality and using Javascript (often jQuery) for other front end functionality.

In retrospect I had stagnated. I was also playing music so that took a lot of my energy. I didn’t put the time in to progress my career. Lockdown came and I reassessed things. I heard about things like React. I discovered that a new version of Javascript had come out in 2015 and it had completely passed me by. Could I have been anymore out of touch? I discovered freecodecamp, then I discovered CS50 and became obsessed. I finished CS50x, started CS50w and I’m continuing with freecodecamp. I’m currently juggling a part time Wordpress job and freelance stuff.

What I really want is now is a full time dev job. I’m not even sure what type, maybe more backend? Something with more programming involved. When I first learned the idea was to avoid using Javascript and try and do everything in HTML/CSS where possible. Well that changed!

I’m not quite sure where I am now. I mean I can write an app from scratch in PHP and MySQL, but I don’t think I do it in the ‘proper’ way. I think other developers would wince at my code. But it works.

So, after that self-indulgent rambling, my question is: Will I be able to get a ‘proper’ dev job with these skills? Will I need to start at the bottom again and get a junior job in the area I want? I sometimes get a little bit demoralised seeing these posts where people do freecodecamp for 3 months then get a job… I’ve been studying hard for 6 months (+10 years experience) and still feel I’m a way off. I’m in the UK if that makes any difference (I think it does, the salary’s seem to a lot lower here than in the US)

Thanks!