I don’t know if I can do this

Hello. I have now been studying web development for almost six months, putting in an average of 5 hours study time a day. I’ve been through the responsive web design and JavaScript sections of FCC a couple of times each. I’ve done a handful of Udemy courses, tried building a couple of dozen projects and… I seem to have learnt almost nothing. Even sitting down to build a simple, single page web site is as slow and cumbersome for me now as it was two weeks after I started. Nothing seems to stick for me. I’ve looked up how to use things like flexbox and grid countless times but I seem to be completely unable to remember how they work. I’ve taught myself how to build a responsive nav bar over and over again. If you asked me to implement one now, I’d have to look it up.

Has anyone else experienced a learning failure along these lines and, if so, do you have any advice you could share? When I started learning, I was kinda hoping I might be ready to start applying for junior level jobs after about six months but that’s clearly not the case. I really don’t want to give up on the idea of becoming a developer but on current evidence, it’s going to take me years before I’ve learnt enough to do anything useful.

1 Like

Have you finished the projects at the end of Responsive Web Design section? I think that’s a really good starting point. The projects are not very complicated, there are user stories that you have to fulfill so you know exactly what you have to do and you just have to figure out how to do it.

1 Like

Why do you think this is a good approach?

I think you should deliberately stretch yourself instead of doing the same stuff multiple times.

2 Likes

Hi @gordon_woodbine !

It sounds like you were hoping to memorize a whole bunch of stuff but it is literally impossible. It is totally fine to look up things. As long as you have a basic understanding that is what matters.