I got my first coding job too!

I have been using FCC since close to it’s beginnings in late 2014. At some point my account got messed up and I started again from scratch. Many many revisions of the curriculum later I am still plugging along. F/t work and sports made me an intermittent student at times, but I got hooked. I am a paramedic by trade, and a competitive boxer. I got into coding because it was something completely different than medicine and sports. I was interested in learning about mobile apps. Since then I have greatly enjoyed learning about ALL things coding. Besides web development I have become very interested in medical/bio hacking and learning about technology being used to better the world. ( Think access to education in underserved areas or 3d printing of medical devices.) I am near being able to transfer as a junior to finish my degree. I changed over to computer and cognitive science after I got into all this. …So, my degree isn’t done yet, and I’m nowhere near finished with FCC. I applied for a job doing web support and basic front and back end development. I referenced FCC and other resources I use such as Udemy etc and was totally straightforward about my NOOB status in the interview. 3 interviews later, and I am walking off the ambulance and into a salaried career with great benefits. After my 1st interview!! To top that , they are supportive of my school schedule -as it will make a me a better employee for them, and it’s a F/T 100% remote position. To say I’m excited would be an understatement, I get to do this for a living, and now I am getting paid to learn about software engineering. Now I am spending time reviewing and studying everything ever. I never dreamed when I started this program in 2014 that it would take me into an exciting new career. This program is no joke. I still have tons to learn but I feel I have gained a foundation to keep learning and to feel confident as I move in this new direction. Thanks FCC!!!

48 Likes