I want to start using a linter and transpiler for Javascript

Hi, I’ve just brushed up on ES6 and want to use a transpiler like Babel along with a linter such as ESLint. I’ve never used these before and previously all of my work has consisted of writing HTML/CSS/JS in Sublime Text then refreshing the web browser.

Do I need Node.js for this because I keep seeing npm being mentioned, but I don’t know anything about node other than it being used to run JS outside the browser. As you can I tell I’m quite confused and any help on how to achieve my goal would be greatly appreciated!

This is a big step, and you’ll likely spend many hours getting things set up just the way you want… only to make sweeping changes in two months because you either break your configuration or some new tool comes out that prefer.

Linting can be done in two ways: 1) In your editor, and 2) during transpilation, and they both require installing Node. The first way is the easiest and most common. You’ll want to install the SublimeLinter plugin, and then any linters you want to use. Follow the instructions for that plugin and you’ll be fine.

Linting during transpiling is more difficult and not something that everyone likes to do. I would suggest skipping it for now.

Using a transpiler - specifically, Babel - is more difficult to describe since it depends on what sort of project you’re making. After you install Node, you can follow these instructions to get set up with Babel pretty easily. You will have to do this with every project.

Note: It is better to set up Babel for each project you do. Trying to create a global configuration will lead to anger. Anger will lead to hate. Hate will lead to the Dark Side.

If you get your project set up as described in the documentation, you’ll write your ES6 code in a folder called src, and the output will be in a folder called lib. This is what a simple project will look like:

myProject
    |
    |_ src
        |_ script.js (source file)
    |_ lib