JavaScript confusion

Hi, i’m new to JavaScript and i don’ t get what and how to do at here. Can somebody help?

(Directions of it: You start with an updateRecords function that takes an object literal, records , containing the musical album collection, an id , a prop (like artist or tracks ), and a value . Complete the function using the rules below to modify the object passed to the function.

• Your function must always return the entire record collection object.
  • If prop isn’t tracks and value isn’t an empty string, update or set that album’s prop to value .
  • If prop is tracks but the album doesn’t have a tracks property, create an empty array and add value to it.
  • If prop is tracks and value isn’t an empty string, add value to the end of the album’s existing tracks array.
  • If value is an empty string, delete the given prop property from the album.

Note: A copy of the recordCollection object is used for the tests.)

// Setup

var recordCollection = {

2548: {

albumTitle: 'Slippery When Wet',

artist: 'Bon Jovi',

tracks: ['Let It Rock', 'You Give Love a Bad Name']

},

2468: {

albumTitle: '1999',

artist: 'Prince',

tracks: ['1999', 'Little Red Corvette']

},

1245: {

albumTitle: 'Riptide',

artist: 'Robert Palmer',

tracks: ['Addicted to Love']

},

5439: {

albumTitle: 'ABBA Gold'

}

};

// Only change code below this line

function updateRecords(records, id, prop, value) {

return records;

}

updateRecords(recordCollection, 5439, 'artist', 'ABBA');

It doesn’t look like you’ve tried anything yet. It makes it much easier for everyone if you’ve tried something first.

Where are you stuck? What have you tried?

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make it easier to read.

You can also use the “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) to add backticks around text.