Javascript cost estimator issue

Javascript cost estimator issue

Trying to have the option when clicking button “Add to quote” will add the result from the estimate into a new object in the cart. Then have the current cart show at the bottom. Here is the pen you can look at.

I’m a noob and there is some code i’m not using in there. I’m not sure if we can hire people here… I’m open to that if so.
other issues

I can only get Value to show instead of name above the price
I tried document.getElementById(“choice”).name and .getAttribute(“name”)

Thanks

Question: You link to a file called learn24.js, Is the contents of this file in the JS section now?

I can only get Value to show instead of name above the price
I tried document.getElementById(“choice”).name and .getAttribute(“name”)

Change how you declare Product1 to the following:

var choice = document.getElementById("choice");
var Product1 = choice.options[choice.selectedIndex].text;

yes. Pretty new to codepen so I transfered from my own files into here. I took that out now since I don’t need it in codepen. Thanks for the tips.

Worked like a charm. Thanks!

I have 2 checkboxes “low-e” “tempered”

is there a way that if the box is checked it will alter the price by adding totalSquareFeet x 3$ for example?

What about the add to quote button that takes the current estimated product and puts it into the cart?

The answer is Yes to both of your questions. Instead of me giving you the solution for the 1st question, I will show you a very basic example below and you can study it and then apply it in your code. If you had a lot of check boxes, there are some more efficient ways approaching this part, but since you only have two, the code below will work for your purposes.

Example HTML

<input type="checkbox" id="abc"> ABC
<input type="checkbox" id="xyz"> XYZ

Example JavaScript:

var abc = document.getElementById('abc').checked; // gets a true or false value
if(abc){ 
  // do something
}