Javascript Practice Problems YouTube Series

Javascript Practice Problems YouTube Series

Hey FFC,

I’m making a “Javascript Practice Problems for Complete Beginners” youtube video series where I take a single entry level programming problem, explain it on a whiteboard, and implement it in javascript. If any of you have a request for an explanation, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll work on a video. I am only focusing on Javascript (no HTML or CSS) at this point.

The most recent one I created is writing a function for extracting the initials from a full name string:

Here is a second one for anyone interested:

Audio on this particular video is particularly very soft.

on which video do you mean?

The spiral problem video. Great solution btw

ahh ok, yeah I messed on which audio input was being record during the whiteboard session, and I’m still trying to find the best way to EQ the audio. The next one should be closer to perfect :wink:

I sometimes run sound/mix for events/musicals/plays/concerts. Some tips…

FILTERING:
Roll-off the low end, there is nothing there but rumble, hum and noise. Use a high-pass filter.
This one tip alone will make a big difference in vocals. (will cut out background ambient noise, AC/fan noise, wind noise, rumbling noise, footsteps, etc)

GAIN:
Make sure there is enough gain but not clipping.
Use a condenser microphone instead of a dynamic microphone (note: will need 48V phantom power)

EQs:
If the “ss” aren’t intelligible, a little boost around 6khz to bring some nice sibilance, but not too much. Just give it some “air”.
Depending on voice, a 1khz slight bump will improve intelligibility. But not too much as ears are most sensitive in this frequency too.

COMPRESSION:
If you’re talking softly, or vary your volume levels too much, compression will help as it makes the overall levels more constant… it boosts the quiet portions, and compresses back down the loud portions of your audio.