Local Vs Global Variable

Local Vs Global Variable

When I call reality() I want to print Royal Blue but I am getting Royal undefined I am just a beginner in JavaScript Please help me find out what is the problem.

var color = “Blue”;
function reality() {
var color = "Royal " + color;
console.log(color);
}
reality();

If you look at your function, you will see that you are redeclaring the variable “color”.

If you want to access a named variable outside of your current function (in this case, the one you named reality), you do not use “var” in front of it again. Just use the name of the variable - color.

If you do use var again, the Javascript engine thinks you want to make another variable named “color” and it will ignore the original one. That’s what’s happening here - the function reality has created a new color variable, but does not yet have anything assigned to it, so you get “Royal undefined” as a result.

If you want to know more about it, read up on the topic of “hoisting” - it will explain the process via which Javascript creates variables so that it becomes a bit more predictable!

If I don’t write “var” in front color then it will be a global variable, I want the color variable value as “Blue” globally and “Royal Blue” inside the function reality.

Then you have to change the name of one of color variables.I don’t think the same variable name can reference 2 values simultaneously in the same scope.

var color = "Blue";

function reality() {
	// what is somehow happening, behind the scenes :
	var color = undefined;
	color = "Royal " + color; // javascript engine looks for the value of color(after the + sign) in the immediate environment and find it's "undefined"
	console.log(color);
}

reality();

what you can do is(but I would not recommend it, using the same names can be confusing) :

var color = "Blue";

function reality(globalColor) {
	var color = "Royal " + globalColor;
	console.log(color);
}

reality(color);