Looking for any feedback (Resume and Portfolio)

Hi I’ve been applying for jobs online for a couple of months now, looking for a web developer role, but I haven’t been getting any responses. I’m wondering if there’s anything I could improve.

My Resume

My Portfolio

My Github

My Linkedin

Any constructive feedback you can offer would be great!
Thanks in advance.

1 Like

from the description on your portfolio I would remove ‘looking for a change of scenery’.

The projects on your github are valuable for learning but I would suggest they’re not suitable for a portfolio. I have a tonne of these kinds of projects but I wouldn’t put them on my cv or portfolio. They’re too trivial and generic, plus someone browsing cvs isn’t going to look through several apps for one candidate, at best they might take a look at one. They also give the impression that you may not be comfortable programming independently without the tutorials.

Therefore it would be a good idea to build a non-trivial full-stack app that’s wholly your own and based on your own ideas, rather than being tutorial based. I have one project like this which I spent 2-3 months building initially and have been developing it ever since even after getting a job over a year ago. Whenever I want to learn something new in the MERN stack I integrate it into that application.

From the cv I would remove the stuff that isn’t strictly development related, e.g. long job descriptions for non-development jobs isn’t relevant to the jobs you are looking for. Job title, company and dates are fine, there’s no need for the bullet points. I would try to keep the cv to one page.

What you’ve done so far overall is solid though and you’re on the right track.

2 Likes

Hi @Nootuff !

My advice would be to have a targeted approach instead of hitting apply and hoping for the best.
All of the developers I know that tried the spray and pray method of applying to jobs ended up not getting anywhere in the process.