Lost almost all my motivation for programming, after programming for 2 years

Hello,

I was programming for around 2 years more or less with a few months breaks every 6-7 months and it wasn’t hardcore. I’m Java programmer and minecraft plugin developer.
I was pretty much doing only that for the last 2 years and now suddenly around 3-4 weeks ago I started losing motivation for programming, I would get it for a few minutes and as soon as I started programming I would lose it, I would get motivation for maybe a few hours if I find I can do something really great, but rarely.

I was researching it and I found out that a lot of programmers have gone through it but the methods to fix it aren’t really available to me because of couple of reasons.

Here are my problems:

1. Right now its winter and I can’t really go on a vacation and it isn’t an option, the break which includs lying on sofa besides the computer and watching videos on phone isn’t really a break.
  2. I’ve signed up for competition in programming so I can’t really afford any longer breaks.
  3. Even money doesn’t motivate me a bit (it never did, however, lets be realistic, money would motivate anyone at least a bit even if it isn’t his true motivation and never was money as is case with myself) and it never should be anyones true motivation.
  4. When I’m doing either paid projects or projects for myself I have a feeling like someone is forcing, maybe a bittt less with paid.
  5. When I think about what I could do with it, it gives me a bit of motivation but I lose it almost immediately as soon as I start to code.
  6. Before I would be happy when I got something to work and would sit for hours solving some problem
  7. I’m somewhat difficult personality.

If anyone has any other option that could solve this and can return my motivation within a week, please let me know.

1 Like

It seems burnout, maybe you can benefit from this article?

1 Like