Maybe Someone Can Relate, Here's Hoping

I’ve been freelancing as a web designer for a few years now after getting a Bachelor’s degree in Web Design. What I thought would land me an awesome on site position didn’t get me very far after a company who hired me after graduating neglected to mention that my being hired was only because they needed someone to work full time on the redesign of their new website. Once that was done they pretty much didn’t have anything for me after a month or two. So I stopped wasting gas money and stayed at home. Don’t spend what you don’t earn. After that I bought myself a monitor so I could have a two monitor setup, and began to redesign my original portfolio site for school into a site I could use to bring in clients of my own. This worked for a little while, here and there, and helped me get a few contract positions that seemed to have work for me just when I really needed it, but this only enables me to barely survive and stress like crazy when my one of my kids outgrows their clothes, or shoes, or worse, school clothes season comes because my stupid school district now requires uniform, even though that just requires parents to spend even more money than before! I hate living this way, having no money to take my kids out and take them to fun events. If it wasn’t for my gardening hobby I think I would go mad!

So in 2016 I decided I wanted to expand my knowledge and my coding skills and become a full stack developer. I know some PHP, and can read and understand it for the most part, since I customize WordPress themes for a lot of clients, but JavaScript is a coding language I really want to learn. I’ve been able to figure out simple scripts, but not write my own, or really gain a full understanding of JavaScript. Plus, I would love to be able to earn a better income and give my kids more than I can now. I’m tired of being poorer than dirt!