Mechanical to software development transition

Hello Everyone,

A short background about myself:
I am 29 years old and I have a Masters degree in Mechanical Engineering and I am currently working full-time in an automotive company as a mid-level Engineer. My knowledge in softwares / coding is close to zero. I only use MS tools (office, excel) and ERP tools as part of my work doing routine, repetitive tasks.

I am interested in learning to code. I have recently started learning HTML on freeCodeCamp. I am also started learning basics of python on the side. I am not sure if I have started the right way and therefore I would like you all to guide me through this. Some questions where I would appreciate your input.

1. Am I too old to start a career transition from Mech > SW dev as I see 20-25 year olds dominating the field?
    I must mention that I am very adaptable and I have no issues working for someone younger than me but highly competent. I would like to learn doing new and interesting things.
  2. Where do I start?
  3. What do I learn?
  4. List of things I need to learn
  5. How do I learn?
  6. Time required. (if possible)

I have 3 hours of time on workdays and weekends are free. Hopefully, I can transition into software development in a few years time when I am competent enough. Any input from code campers and also from people who have gone through such a transition would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and Have a great week!

2 Likes

I’m chiming in as a freelancer and not as a very experienced coder, although I’ve been coding on and off since 1998-2000.