My brain is too dumb

Hey everyone… So, I’m trying to learn to code, but it’s not going well. The worst thing is that I have all the time I want, I’m a high school student and I have 4 weeks of vacation left. I just started “Basic Algorithms” in front end development and I can’t understand a single thing in there. The only thing that I’m good at is typing a challenge title in the google and copying the code. It drives me nuts. I question my ability to even learn to code… Maybe I need to start with something else and build from there?

1 Like

Everyone has different difficulties. And I guarantee, whatever difficulties you are having, there are others that have had the exact same confusions.

And most of use use FCC as a framework, but end up doing a lot of research to fill in the gaps. Don’t be surprised that FCC does not give you all the answers. But part of this is learning to do your own research.

So, google it. If that doesn’t help, ask a question in a new thread. My only suggestion is to be very specific in your question - the more specific the question, the better the quality and quantity of answers. Don’t be shy. This is a very friendly and helpful group.

6 Likes

That title is extremely self-limiting. You can’t expect to be able to understand everything right away. You take it bit by bit, and you will see things starting to click into place. I guarantee you that at some point, everyone here had a moment where something just wasn’t making sense. What you do after this determines how successful you will be. Take a step back and think about what exactly it is you’re having trouble with. Look this problem up on google. Ask a question in the forum. A great place I started with is Jon Duckett’s HTML & CSS, and JavaScript & jQuery. It doesn’t have to be your starting point, it’s just an example, but try and think more positively.

4 Likes