Need advice. Work full time and want to study

Hi friends. I’m currently looking for some advice on studying while working full time.

Facts about me:

I’m currently working a full time job (40 hours) and it is my dream to become a self taught web developer (full stack).

I am currently studying the “Responsive Web Design Certification”. My end goal is to earn all 6 certifications.

A few things…
I am currently trying to make a habit of studying coding every day even if its only for 15 minutes. ( I’ll take what I can give to myself). When it comes to studying… I do have a few days where it is hard for me to focus and study, thus makes it harder for me to retain information.

My study goals:
-Ideal - study 20 hours a week
-Realistic - study 13-15 hours a week.

I have been pondering on few questions

1. Any advice or tips on how to self-study while working full time? And possibly how to achieve my ideal goal??

2. Any advice on not getting burnt out or drained?

3.How much time do you take to study during the week?

4.Any advice how to keep up consistency with habit building like studying everyday?

1. Also, What would help with retaining information? I sometimes have days where its hard for me to retain information I studied.

Thank you for the help. :slight_smile:

If you are planning to study 2 hours everyday, I suggest you split it in four periods, 30 minutes each, so you can do for example:

• 30 minutes before work
  • 30 minutes during lunch
  • 30 minutes during work break
  • 30 minutes when you get home

I use a Pomodoro tool (30/30 on Apple Store) to control my available time. This strategy usually works for me, because I have problems focusing in one activity for more than one hour. Besides, two hours a day is a very good pace for someone who is also dealing with a regular job.

Stay strong and good luck.

3 Likes

Hello my buddy, pal, friend…