Need help optimizing code for Rock, Paper Scissors game

I have been learning HTML, CSS and JavaScript for almost 3 months now. I am happy to finally have figured out how to make JS interact with HTML. I made this game from what I have learned so far. When I reread the code I feel like I may have forced things to work. It doesn’t seem optimized.

My question is: Can someone give me some suggestions to make the code more streamlined? I didn’t use loops at all, but i feel like they could be in there. I would like to rework this, because i have already spent so much time thinking it out and getting it to work. I’d like to make it better.

Also I noticed my New Game button isn’t working in CodePen, because it literally just refreshes the page.

Thanks.
https://codepen.io/craig-glatfelter/pen/qBavGYV

Hey there,

Congrats on creating the project! It is an excellent way to learn.

Some thoughts I had about the code:

• if...else blocks with 1 outcome are better suited as switch statements
if (compNum === 0) {
                compChoice = "rock";  
            }
            else if (compNum === 1) {
                compChoice = "paper";  
            }
            else if (compNum === 2) {
                compChoice = "scissors";  
            }  
  • Same goes for your bestOf function
  • Instead of adding 1 to an array like this, it might make more sense to increment a total:
trackComputerArr.push(1);
  • That way, you can completely forgo the trackPlayerArr.reduce((a, b) => a + b, 0) steps, and just show the number. glad you learnt about the reduce method, though
  • There is a lot of repetition in setting the:
resultsDiv.innerHTML = `Computer's pick: ${compChoice}</br> </br>
                Player's pick: ${playChoice} </br></br>
                <span style = "font-size: x-large" id = 'wins'>${whoWins}</span.`