Need help understanding - Nesting For Loops

Hi All!

So I have been doing a bit of web design for a few years, so I honestly whipped through the HTML & CSS, but now I’m in JS and per usual I’m stuck on loops!

I just completed the Nesting for Loops challenge, but I honestly don’t understand how I got it nor how it works.

I was referred to a visual guide and here it is… https://goo.gl/LclMEP

This really just doesn’t make sense how the value of product jumps up. Especially on steps 20 to 21. It goes from 6 to 24 while i and j are values of 1 :confused:

Further I still don’t know if I fully understand the line for ( var j = 0; j < arr[i].length; j++ )

Any insight or help would be greatly appreciated! I don’t feel like I can move onto the next lesson until I fully grasp this as it all builds off of the previous lessons.

Thanks,
Seth

1 Like

The arr array refers to this array:

[
  [1, 2],
  [3, 4],
  [5, 6, 7]
]

When i equals 1, arr[i] refers to the inner array [3, 4]. You can trace it in the diagram. arr points to this array with three blocks. From there the block with the index of 1 (this is i) points to the array that contains the numbers 3 and 4.

When j also equals 1, arr[i][j] refers to the number 4. In the diagram, the block with the index 1 in array [3, 4] contains the number 4.

So arr[i][j] when i and j are both 1 is just the number 4. You multiply this 4 to the number in product (the number 6), so now you have 24.

Related thread:

2 Likes

Thanks for the follow up! One final question, why are we adding .length to the 2nd loop? Aren’t we trying to find the numbers within the array, not the length of the array itself?

I think once I can wrap my head around the j < arr[i].length I’ll be good :smiley:

that’s the length of the the nested array we’re looping through. We are looping into the nested arrays the same way we loop into the external one.

for example in this array:
[
[1, 2],
[3, 4],
[5, 6, 7]
]