(Newbie; Python) Help understanding why this is

Hi,
I’m a beginner, learning Python.
I’m following a course on EDX Courses and in an exercise, I was surprised my code didn’t work.

Here’s the exercise:

balance = 20.0
price = 19.0
sales_tax_rate = 1.06

#Write some code below that will print True if balance is
#big enough to make a purchase with the given price and sales
#tax rate, False if it is not.
#Add your code here!

So my initial answer was:

price *= sales_tax_rate < balance
print(price)

To my surprise, this output “19”??

So then I used the ‘primitive’ version of *= and wrote out the code in full without the shorthand version " *= " as:

price = price * sales_tax_rate < balance
print(price)

And to my surprise again, that worked and gave a False as expected!?

But why is that? Can someone explain? I mean, the *= is just meant to simplify writing code and make it faster to avoid having to type the ‘full’ version, i.e. price = price *
Why isn’t the result the same then?

Thanks in advance!

Why, oh why, are you changing the meaning of price? That makes your code very confusing.

To your question, you are being sloppy with order of operations.
a *= b
means
a = a * (b)
So
means
price = price * (sales_tax_rate < balance)

In this case, sales_tax_rate < balance is true, as 1.06 < 20. That means that price *= sales_tax_rate < balance is computing price *= 1, as true = 1 and false = 0.

This sort of willy-nilly type conversion that Python does combined with your confusing redefinition of price is the perfect storm which demonstrates why sometimes Python can be a challenging language for beginners to catch mistakes.

What you really want is
sufficient_balance = price * sales_tax_rate < balance
or even more clearly
sufficient_balance = (price * sales_tax_rate) < balance

It’s only an exercise and I’m trying to learn to write as tight and as short code as possible.