Not Grasping Material

Not Grasping Material
0.0 0

All,

So I am a beginner in coding and heard good things about FCC. I am a few lessons into Basic Algorithm Scripting but I feel like I’m not grasping the material, I’m not just talking about Algorithm section I’m talking almost everything so far. When I come across the mini challengers and projects I find myself having NO CLUE where to even start and then when I see the solutions its like I have no idea how they came it there. I can follow the solution and kinda grasp had A leads to B and interacts C, but find myself frustrated as I would have never gotten there on my own. At this rate I feel like I’m going to complete the Front End Development Cert and have no ideal how to do any actual front end development beside making a H1 heading

I’m so lost!!

I think FCC is a great program that I want to come back to and finish but I think I need to take a break and get a better foundation of the basics first before coming back. WHICH BRINGS ME TO MY QUESTION… what is a good site, or book that will really help me get a solid foundation of the basics?? preferably something hands on that allows me to practice as I learn. FCC had this in beginning with the silly cat app but seeing that in action change as I adjusted the code really helped bring it together.

Thanks for bearing with my in this long message. Any help would be appreciated!!

I have never found a (free) site that is anywhere near as good as FCC.

That seemed to be the general consensus when I was first starting to look at programs. I think that I need to restart all the way back to bootstrap and retake the lessons again. The thought of starting over kinda sucks but what good is moving on if you have no clue what you’re doing, and maybe this time things will click.

Thanks for the reply