On Complementary colors

Hello there,

Currently I am learning https://learn.freecodecamp.org/responsive-web-design/applied-visual-design/learn-about-tertiary-colors.

Base color -> orange(#FF7D00)

Complementary colors:

1. cyan(#00FFFF)
  2. raspberry(#FF007D)

I am curious, if the base color is #FF7D00, that’s mean the complementary colors are:

1. #00FF7D
  2. #FF007D

But, rather than #00FF7D, it is written as #00FFFF.

Would you please to enlighten me?

I’m no expert here, but I think color is largely a human perception, and that mixed with the abstraction encoding them into a computer language to be rendered on a screen is going to create some imperfections. I wouldn’t worry about it too much. You can always experiment with numbers and see what you like. Personally, I think the idea of “complementary colors” is largely overblown.

1 Like

there is a very good course on colors on khanacademy which is offered thru pixar. Lots of interesting info there. (though nothing to do with web dev, just about how color is chosen)

1 Like

I’m not quite following what you’re saying, but #00FFFF and #00FF7D are totally different colors, and simply moving a value to a different color channel doesn’t guarantee complementary colors. I might suggest putting up those color values you mentioned in an HTML document to see how they look, that’s probably the best way to learn how the color channels work.

1 Like

Hello there. Thank you for your reply.

Yes, I agree with you. I am getting confused precisely because of that.

In the lesson, it states that a base color #FF7D00 has #00FFFF and #FF007D as its complementary colors.

But, I find it quite confusing. Since, I think #FF7D00 and #00FFFF have no any correlation.

Is that possible, by #00FFFF, the lesson meant #00FF7D?

Hello, thank you for your reply.

I am going to search for the lesson. I am really interested on colors right now. Thank you :smiley:

1 Like