Portfolio Review Needed

I have been teaching myself front-end development for about 10 months now. I still have not been able to land my first dev role. I have been doing spray and pray with applications, but feel I may need to reach out to hiring managers to increase my chances of an interview. I would greatly appreciate any advice on how to change my approach or insight on what I may be doing wrong.

I am targeting front-end web dev jobs mostly, but am also applying to junior developer job listings as well. I have only gotten two technical assessment/project opportunities after plenty of applications. I didn’t land either of those jobs so obviously my skills need to improve a bit, but feel my portfolio and/or resume may be part of why I am not landing more interviews/assessments.

Also, I would appreciate an honest opinion on my portfolio of highlighted projects and resume, which can be found on my portfolio site home page. Based on my projects so far, do you all believe I am ready for a junior role? Does my resume look okay? Thank you all for listening.

Portfolio Page

Your portfolio has a number of great things:

• Well polished at a glance
  • Mobile responsive
  • Sensible design, and theme
  • Projects displayed have a good selection of different technologies.

There are a few things that make it look “less polished”:

• slow, quirky, inconsistent animations:
    • your contact page “moves” on load
    • your name “drops” but the sub-text slides in?
    • your services highlight to purple, but aren’t interactive.
    • generally the slower the animations you have the more “slow” your site feels.

There’s also an inconsistent use of motion, where it’s not actually clear what/where any of this motion represents. I’d be-careful about having too many animations for the sake of animations. Having a few consistent decently fast ones might be better, or even having none might keep your site feeling straight forward and “clean”.