React Js alert on click button

Hi there,
I’m a beginner in Programmation and I have this simple code and it doesn’t work. I just want to create an alert when I click on the button. I can’t see the problem thank you very much.

class footer extends React.Component{
render() {  
return (

<footer className={styles.footer} alt="tests">

<button className={transform} onClick={this.handleClick}>
</button>

</footer>

);

}

}

class transform extends React.Component {

constructor(transform) {

super(transform);

this.handleClick = this.handleClick.bind(this);

}

handleClick() {
      alert (test);
  }
 }

export default footer;

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make it easier to read.

You can also use the “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) to add backticks around text.

See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard.
Note: Backticks (`) are not single quotes (’).

Hi @Soopah !

Welcome to the forum!

I don’t see why you would need to create a class if all it is doing is the handleClick function.

I would add the alert right in the onClick function.

<button onClick={() => alert("You clicked the button")}>
        Show alert
   </button>

Thank you very much. I would like to create a class because this is the first step of the exercise. After this, I have to do a flip book. I will use the button to turn the pages of the book. I will use state and setState (I guess). Sorry if my English is not perfect I’m French.

Is your transform supposed to be the parent component?

If so, you can nest the Child component (Footer) inside the parent and pass the handleClick down to the child.

Maybe you can try something like this and get the alert working.

Sidenote: Class names should start with a capital letter. :grinning:

1 Like

Yes, adding onto Jessica’s good advice,