React / Webpack : Blank Page After Execution

I just started learning Webpack to make a React weather-app chrome extension. All the bundled files have been put in the default “dist” folder (as shown). However, when I am opening the “index.html” in the “dist” folder, the page on the live server is blank. Can someone help with find where I have made a mistake? I have enclosed all the screenshots which I believe, may help in debugging the problem.

(1) File Structure

(2) Index.js file
NOTE: using require, the index.html file in the src folder is called (from what I have understood)

index

(3) Webpack.config.js File
NOTE: Is the entry point correct here?

(4) package.json()
NOTE: Is the “main” correct here?
package1

package2

(5) index.html

indexHTML

Hello there,

You are more likely to get help, if you share a link to a repository hosting your latest code instead of screenshots of code.

Otherwise, here are my immediate thoughts:

• How are you serving the dist folder? You mention a “live server”, but are you sure this is serving the correct folder from the correct directory?
  • I have never seen that require('file-loader?... in client-side code. Is require defined by a Webpack plugin you are using?
1 Like

The Git Hub Link for the React App →

Git Hub Link for Weather App

Hi! Here is the link my Github → Git Hub Link for Weather App. Could you help?

I was trying to open the live server on my VS code terminal using the “npm start” command … there it showed an error that “the index.html file doesn’t exist”. I assumed that the “npm start” command wouldn’t work for a webpack bundled file. So, I tried to use the live server option we get upon right clicking on the file. There I am getting a blank page.

The type value for the script element is type="text/jsx" on the dist bundle (doesn’t look like a “real” build as it isn’t minified).