Regex capture group help

I’m trying to understand regular expression capture groups.

if I match “2009009100900910090091” against /(\d+)\1+/,

capture group 2 matches “0090091”, but not “0”, “009”, “090”, “900”, “0900910”, “9009100”, “0091009”, “0910090”, “9100900”, or “1009009”… all of which are subsets of the string I would expect to fit the regex’s second capture group. Why does it capture the one, and not the others?

I really like regular expressions, for some reason they never behave the way you think they should :sweat_smile:

I’m not an expert, but I think it’s just that in “\d+” the “+” is greedy, it won’t stop until it encounters something that doesn’t match “\d” (just “\d+” would match the entire string) and a regex will always return the first possible match. So what I understand is that it’s just matching the first biggest series of digit that is repeated more than one time.

1 Like

I agree with this analysis. To match less, I’d try to use a ? after the +, or to limit the number of digits to match using {n[, n]} after the \d. It depends on what you’re trying to achieve.

Thanks for the answers. They are helpful in understanding regex, though I wish I could feel like that understanding brought be closer to knowing how to do one of the things I was trying to figure out how to do:

Given a string of unknown length that includes (but is not necessarily limited to) repeating characters, I’d like to find (a) the earliest, largest, consecutively repeating subset of characters (of unknown length) that is (b) not also a superset of one of the larger string’s repeating subsets

As far as I can tell, my regex, /(\d+)\1+/, meets condition (a), but not condition (b).

Example:
/(\d+)\1+/ matches “0090091” in “2009009100900910090091” (good)
but also matches “00900910090091” in “20090091009009100900910090091” (bad=> fails (b))