Rejected from jobs - no employer feedback, very frustrated

Hi everyone,

I’m a recent college grad (double A.S. in computer programming and web programming) and I was just rejected today from a really great internship. The most frustrating part is that the interviewer sent me a generic “best of luck” message. He didn’t tell me how I did on the little quiz he gave me or offer any tips on how I can improve. I’ve tried emailing him back but haven’t received a response. And sadly, I have the same story with another company I applied to recently.

So given that I have no idea what employers are really looking for and they don’t seem to be willing to offer advice, maybe you guys can help shed some light and look over my portfolio site and resume (which you can see by clicking on the link on my site)?

https://adace123.github.io/portfolio-site/

Thanks.

Sorry to hear you’re having a tough go at finding work. I’ll try to keep my criticisms to a minimum.

After reviewing your portfolio, there are a few suggestions I have.

1. The solar system website looks very dated. Perhaps you should revamp it or remove it altogether. White text on black background is taboo in most instances.
  2. Some of the apps seem to be a bit buggy. Perhaps they’re still in development, I’m not sure. The music app kept giving me the Joshua Tree and nothing else. I had to reload the page several times before giving up and moving on.
  3. The city explorer app also seemed buggy. I typed in “Atlanta” and suggested Beverly Hills and NYC. Perhaps you haven’t completed the database, but it was still confusing.
  4. The secret diary app required a log-in, and I was not about to do that. Perhaps you should find a way to exhibit its functionality without requiring a login.
  5. The Mountain Travel site was visually pleasing, but none of the links worked.