Rough Tribute Page, Please Critique

Hi All,

I just completed my tribute page and it’s ugly.

If you have time, can you look at it and suggest improvements? http://codepen.io/wrshif/pen/jqjPad

Thanks,

William

Keep in mind that I am still learning as well but my personal suggestions would be: try not to change the aspect ratio of your pictures, it makes them look kind of weird. I also personally don’t really like using the stock white background, and I think have your title text in red in this case looks a little weird. When using codepen put your css code in the css section rather than putting it in html. I liked the text at the end and thought it was pretty funny, keep up the good work and you will see improvement. Here’s my tribute page: http://codepen.io/twm013/full/yOwaKd/. As you can see it is far from perfect, but I have already gotten a better just by coding every day. Good luck!

I wound move your inline css styles to an external style sheet. That is industry standard so it would be better to start now and try to do that.

I would go back and try adding in some bootstrap. It was an easy way for me to add styling to my work when I first started. I would spend a long time trying to figure out how to make columns and make responsive webpages when bootstrap already does that for you. Its also used a lot in the web dev industry so it doesn’t hurt learning it either.

Thank you for taking the time to comment. After looking at your site, I want to create a background and add some of those buttons that move the page down to the next part. What are those buttons called?

When you say not to change the aspect ratio of pictures, do you mean that I should not change the height and width of the pictures? If so, how can I get the pictures to be the right size?