Sharing My 100-Day Web Development Journey & Seeking Advice

Hello everyone,

I wanted to share a bit about my current journey in web development. I have some experience with JavaScript, React, and programming in general, but things have gotten a bit rusty over time. My ultimate goal is to learn through practical application and become capable enough to create web app products as an indie hacker.

Here’s my plan: Over the next 100 days, I’ll be building a variety of projects based on FreeCodeCamp courses, specifically:

• Responsive Web Design with 17 projects
  • JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures with 5 projects
  • Front End Development Libraries with 5 projects
  • Back End Development and APIs with 5 projects

To keep myself accountable and motivated, I’ll be joining the #100DaysOfCode challenge and will be tweeting daily about what I’ve learned. I’m also planning to be active in this forum, sharing my progress, and seeking ways I can help others based on the topics I’ve learned.

Today (8th July 2023), I’ve started my first project - the CatPhotoApp, and I’ll be hosting all of my projects on my Github page for anyone who’d like to follow along or offer feedback.

I’m sharing this not just to document my journey, but to hopefully inspire others who might be on a similar path. Most importantly, I’m also looking for advice or tips from the community.

Are there any resources you’d recommend in addition to what I’ve listed? Any pitfalls to avoid or best practices to adopt? All feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thank you for reading, and I look forward to engaging with you all.

Best,
Joni

Just curious, what was the experience?

While fCC is great and you’ll learn a lot, I always get a lot out of books as well. One that gets recommended a lot is Eloquent JavaScript, and the onlne version is free.

1 Like

Thanks for the book recommendation, I’ll check it out!