Should I drop out of high school to pursue programming?

I’m 16, I’ve been coding for 5 years and I’ve made about 10k USD from freelance coding for the past 2 months. I have made many interesting project and I think I could get a job now but I don’t know if getting a job in the coding industry requires a high school degree or not. Please help me. And I’m also sick of the education system in my country too so I am eager to get out of school as soon as possible.

No you should stay in school and enjoy your youth. It only last for 2 more years. Have fun while you can :3

1 Like

here’s the thing, I hate school. I think I will stay at home for 2 years and then get a job if i do drop out. I would love to hear your opinion on that.

if you do not have the diploma, even if you have good freelancing career, possible employers may prefer other job-seekers that instead have it.
at the end it’s your life, it’s your choice, don’t ask others to choose for you

1 Like

I would suggest continuing school as well. You’ve got all the time after that to actually start working.
Perhaps you can still do freelancing part time and change this later

No

2 Likes

Most jobs in the tech industry ask for college degrees, so naturally they require high school degrees. The simple fact is most resumes are automatically screened for college degrees which instantly makes applying for jobs harder.

I don’t see a reason why you can’t continue to grind thru school and continue to freelance as a side gig. You get more relevant experience, and get an official diploma for high school. Yea you have to deal with your education system, but so does every other person your age. You could jump ship early and drop out, but I’m not sure if you should “get out of the game” so early or quickly.