Super beginner -- Super overwhelmed

Okay, so I’m just beginning in this journey and I am feeling super overwhelmed. I do not have a background in any sort of programming and I feel like the lessons use a lot of code that they don’t necessarily explain and the concepts are so focused that when I got to the programming challenges, putting all the ideas together in a fluid was seems very obtuse and intimidating.
I’m wondering if this is a pretty normal way to be feeling right now. Like, I get that I’m trying to learn something that is very complex, so I’m hoping that the way I’m feeling is just part of a learning curve that can be pretty rough at first.

Any perspective and/or advice is greatly appreciated!
-tfgb

2 Likes

Absolutely normal. The teaching is very brief, there is no repetition, and then periodically a challenge will pop up that will expect you to remember everything and often go one step further. I don’t think most people will find that a great way to learn. It would be like, instead of having weekly guitar lessons and practicing inbetween , just go to lessons every day and never practice!

I’d suggest looking for lots of extra, easy problems using the concepts you learn and getting plenty of practice in. Then you will be more solid before moving on. Like in Math class… those problem sets at the end of each chapter we had to do?

4 Likes

it is VERY NORMAL. Don’t even second guess yourself!

2 Likes

Thanks a bunch! That’s good advice. I think it’s also intimidating because the examples they give for the solved challenges look so good compared to what I’m actually producing. I decided to just let that go and try to just focus on fulfilling the expectations of the challenges, which is allowing me to get through some of them.

Any recommendations for practice exercises? I LOVED doing those math challenges! I would love to find something that worked kind of like that for coding. :stuck_out_tongue:

Hi there @tfgb! welcome!