Teach Prisoners How To Code with FreeCodeCamp

Hello,

My name is Frank DelPidio and I work as a software engineer at a company called Veracross.

We recently began an outreach program working with prisons in Maine to teach prisoners how to code. We would like to use the FreeCodeCamp curriculum.

Giving prisoners internet access has been a sensitive subject that has proven to be a challenge. A possible solution we are considering is forking a copy of the GitHub repo and running the curriculum on a local server at the prison.
My questions are:

1. Is it ok for us to do this? I don’t want to violate FreeCodeCamp’s terms of service.

2. Is it feasible to run the FreeCodeCamp curriculum locally without any internet connection? I believe it is but I want to make sure.

3. Do you know of anyone who has done something similar?

Thank you in advance for any help or advice you can provide.

–Frank

1 Like

You can ask @QuincyLarson :slight_smile:

Sounds like a great cause, I know that personally, I’ve done a fair bit of googling around the topics/challenges on the course so it might be worthwhile making sure some good books are available to reference if you are going for an offline version.

I believe that the CONTRIBUTING documentation has the information that you need for setting up your own local instance. Besides FCC community members that contribute to the code base, I know that some students do this so they can work offline.

Here are some other aspects to consider:

• Community support is one of the best things about FCC. Learning this alien material is very frustrating and demoralizing in isolation. Interaction between peers and across skill levels helps keep you sane and moving forward. I don’t know what the environment you’d be teaching in is like, but hopefully there is the opportunity to create a replacement for our chat and forum.