Tips to cementing new knowledge and skills as a beginner

I’m looking for tips to cement the skills I’m learning so they don’t go in one brain cell and out the other.
I’m extremely new to this field, with no CS background, just a love of computers. I’ve completed the HTML/HTML5 free course on FCC, and I am mostly done with CSS. I’ll keep going, in order, for as long as I can, but in all likelihood I am beginning the full-stack software developer program offered by Ed2Go.com as soon as this week. Luckily I have time on my side right now to optimize my learning, but my concern is I wont retain enough from these early, imperative lessons.
What can I do to help retain the knowledge? I’ve read through the forums and saw advice such as “after each section complete 5-10 projects with that material before advancing”, I love this approach and would love to hear more advice of this sort. I’ve joined the FCC Discord and expect to frequent both there and here often.

• How do you organize your thoughts while learning?
  • What sites do you recommend for practice/challenges?
  • Is Wordpress my best initial opportunity to test-build a web page “from scratch”?
  • What other resources are out there for beginners?

Thanks so much for the feedback!

Tim

Don’t rush through the course and repeat it occasionally. Steer clear from learning the latest and greatest frameworks and libraries for as long as you can. Focus instead on learning the fundamentals of HTML, CSS, JS, or whichever language you are on. Do a section, build a small project that highlights what you learned. Write about it. Come to the forums and browse them for questions you can answer. Learn how to answer questions in terms a five year old could understand.

Go to CodePen and browse for projects and fork them and then disect the code to tweak it and learn from it.