Use of jquery in React

I recently needed to use jquery while working on my markdown previewer project. I read it something that it can be done by using componentDidMount() react’s method. Is this correct way of doing it? I’m asking since i’m new to react and found little information about how to manipulate DOM in react.

I was trying to manipulate css of certain DOM elements for purpose of implementing features. Don’t know how to do that in react or if it can’t at all that i did in jquery/js, in vanilla js some is stuff needed to be “onload”, didn’t also know how to do that in react or in js since it’s all done in react. I also used jquery’s plugin “resizable” which doesn’t have vanilla js equivalent that i know off. And generally i want to know that: Is it correct way doing dom manipulation the way i did it here? Should i do it in vanilla or in react? Bottom line: What is correct way of doing this and where is my code lacking?

Of all of suggestions only this from that large group and this second one are applicable for my purposes.
But nothing beat simplicity of

$("#inner2").resizable({
	handles: 's',
	minHeight: 170
});

this line of code. Thus being said i can use vanilla javascript for most of my dom manipulation. The questions i’m asking that didn’t get answered is: Is it correct way of using jquery in manner i been using it, or is it ‘more’ correct using vanilla js for that same purpose?

You should never use React and jQuery in the same app, at least not if you are using JQ to manipulate the DOM. React wants complete and utter control over the DOM. If you start manipulating the DOM behind it’s back, then it can’t function properly. As I’ve said before, this is like putting your dinner in the microwave, and then putting the microwave in the oven.

Every time you try to manipulate the DOM outside of React, a puppy dies. It is bad. It is dangerous and a guarantee there is a better way to do it.