Utter newbie with react code literacy problem

I’m a complete coding noob learning react. I just have a question about how the code below works. I may get some obvious things wrong or confused-- I’m a rank amateur. The below code is from a tutorial, and it works. My question is:

‘this.props.projects’ points to an array of objects (‘projects’) inside a constructor. I cannot make sense of the line:

<ProjectItem key={project.title}project={project} />

My brain interprets what is happening as:

1. There is a function ‘project’, which is called on each item in the array ‘projects’.
  2. The function returns the value of ‘title’ of each particular item in the array ‘projects’, but it finds that value by referencing itself (‘project’) instead of the array ‘projects’.

This confuses me. How does ‘project.title’ fetch the ‘title’ property of an item in the array ‘projects’? I don’t see how the function ‘project’ has a property at all.

And what is going on with ‘project={project}’? My wild guess is that the function ‘project’ defines itself as an object containing itself, although I suspect that may be gibberish because it makes no sense to me at all.

I understand that these are basic code literacy questions, but the tutorial assumes I understand this and I can’t figure it out on my own. Thanks in advance for helping a noob out. If I omitted critical information just ask and I will try to provide it.

class Projects extends Component {
  render() {
    let projectItems;
    if(this.props.projects){
      projectItems = this.props.projects.map(project => {
        return (
          <ProjectItem key={project.title} project={project} />
        );
      });
    }
    return (
      <div className="Projects">
        {projectItems}

</div>
    );
  }
}

Ah, ok, so:

1. You have an array of objects (projects)
  2. You use the array method map to iterate through them.