What code should I be learning?

I started learning HTML about two weeks ago. now I’m into the CSS portion and I’m getting lost and having trouble understanding any of it. I dont know if its me or maybe that particular language isnt for me. Is it normal to have difficulty understanding concepts or is coding not for me?

4 Likes

I’m having A Day, so I’m going to be real here:
This shit is hard.

Programming is hard. That’s why it’s such an in-demand skill and why it pays well. Learning to program for the first time is very very hard. It’s alien territory for many people.

You’re going to struggle at many different points while learning to code. Whether you continue or not has nothing to do with learning the “right” first language; it’s how you respond to that frustration. If you want to do this, you are going to have to be ready to do lots of Google searches, struggle through confusing explanations and documentation, ask for help, and keep trying to solve the same problem different ways for days at a time.

There is no special set of skills or knowledge that you have to already have for coding to be ‘for you’. Anyone able-minded person has the capacity to become a programmer. You can do this if you willing to persist through the struggle, staying curious, humble, and open-minded.

17 Likes

I’m gonna add a little color to Ariel’s post:

I spent 11 hours over the last two weeks (I logged it) working on an issue for my current project. I had actually stopped working on it for the last couple days because I was getting a little frustrated. This morning I decided to give it another shot. Even when I got to my computer and had a feeling of “ugh… what if I still can’t fix it?”

I’ve been coding for 20 years. I’m not saying this to brag, I’m saying this because it’s just part of software, or anything where you’re learning new things.

Software engineers are constantly learning new and complicated things. It’s just part of it.