What is the best free tier for a flask app?

I’ve been coding for a few years but always hesitant to do any web development. Finally I decided to and made a flask app. I want to deploy it on a free service to see if it will make any ad revenue. If it does I am planning to deploy it on digitalocean or vultr or keep going with free tier. What free tier do you recommend? Also I haven’t written any logic for monitoring the website like users, countries etc. Will they be providing those as well ?

Amazon gives you a free year, and it has monitoring up the wazoo with Cloudwatch. You can also run flask under Lambda, which gives you a million requests and a good chunk of CPU time per month in its free tier which never expires. If you go that route, use something like Zappa, don’t try to finagle Amazon’s godawful web GUI to build your app.

Hello @hqntrt, welcome to the FreeCodeCamp forums, I hope you find your answers :slight_smile:

If you want to run a flask app with minimal or no cost, I’d recommend Google App Engine Standard as it has a number of advantages.

1. Free tier
  2. “Scale to zero” - allow the instance to not run, thus not cost anything. This does make it slower to response from cold, but that should be fine for testing the waters, and it is a feature you can turn off (which will increase costs)
  3. Is a Paas (Platform as a service) which means Google manages almost all of the infrastructure makes it super easy to get going and keep going.
  4. Backed by Google Cloud - one of the big three cloud providers (Amazon Web Services, and Microsoft are the other two)

All of Google’s “hosting” services, like App Engine provide Stackdriver Logging out of the box. Adding a few libraries to further integrate will give you more capabilities of inspecting, debugging and monitoring your code in the cloud. :slight_smile: This service will help you when it comes to server-side problems related to your Python code.