What is This? I don't understand

Hello, I am new to electronics and learning more and more about them all the time. I keeping hearing a lot about something called “github”. What is that? Is it necessary for a coder? What is great about it?

GitHub is a version control platform, allowing you to upload your files into a repository and track changes as you update them.
It is definitely something you should have in your toolbox, as it is useful for sharing your work and for showing to potential employers. Becoming familiar with GitHub (and the git language) will be most helpful in the long-term.

2 Likes

Okay, I see. Um, what info do I have to give to them to sign in?

Email address, user name, and password. I think.

Okay, thank you! I will definitely consider github. Would you recommend any other sites that would be useful like github?

If you’re moving through the FCC curriculum, they’ll recommend Glitch. I find it’s buggy, though, and have been told that repl.it is better.
You’ll also end up making an account for MongoDB, when you hit the API projects.

1 Like

okay, thank you! I will look into all of these.

Always happy to help!

2 Likes

GitHub and GitLab are nice places to store and share your work. They also let you collaborate with others by giving you a common place to put your code and a way to manage multiple people working on the code.

Repl.it is a nice place to test and prototype small pieces of code, and they support a wide range of languages.

1 Like

Nice! :slightly_smiling_face: :grinning:

Hi, have I read properly, in other places, that Glitch is similar to Slack and Discord?