What language and frameworks to choose?

Hello everyone

So recently I graduated from University as a Software Engineer in Sweden. I’ve been taking some time off to recover during the summer and to think through what to do next.

What I’ve come to realize during my education is that I am not a hardcore careerist. I prefer to work the standard 9-5 and then call it a day and go home, preferably no overtime (unless it’s really needed), but not as standard. I value my spare time and time to recover.

I understand many of you live in the U.S. and other countries where it’s very easy to fire someone. I live in Sweden. We earn a lot less compared to you but we also have great job security. After the initial trial period at work when you get a permanent spot, you cannot get fired unless you constantly underperform, come in too late or in other ways break the company rules. In general I think we also have a lower workload. Oftentimes when I watch videos on Youtube about coding, it is a guy from the U.S. making the video saying how hard programmers have to work, and the guy assumes that it is the same all across the world or that all his viewers are also from the U.S. In Sweden it is more relaxed, and our education at University is also free.