What technologies to learn for freelancing?

Hi, i’ve been studying web development for almost 6 months now, and i’ve been mainly sticking with JavaScript and related technologies like React.

My question is, if I want to focus on doing freelance work and building myself up as a brand, which technologies do you think would be most valuable? I have heard that PHP and WordPress are the most popular for freelancers, but I wanted to get your guys’ opinion on this, not just in terms of what’s most useful right now but where you think the trend is headed?

Also, just for reference, it is my goal to be able to make enough money to support myself with freelancing (roughly $24-30k a year at least) so that I can possibly travel for a year or so, as well as build up a solid body of work that I can later show off to full time employers.

Thanks for your answers!!

Well, you’re right - PHP plus Wordpress is the most wanted combination for freelancing.

1 Like

I would also agree that you won’t loose by learning PHP and WP. You should know how to build a WP theme straight from a Photoshop PSD mockup. Learn how to do that and you will be pretty set. Also, I know some freelancers will use Squarespace and learn how to customize templates from there, so knowing about those would be helpful as well.

The best advice I could give you is for you to focus on a niche that is targeted, and learn how to serve that client base really well. So for example small law practices - find out what good web development and marketing looks like for that segment, and develop your skills around that.

Bottom line: There is no right or wrong answer here. Find out what is easy to sell, to what customers, and figure out how you are going to get from point A to B. A lot of times the customer / client will not care at all what tools or skills you utilized. At the end of the day, people just want a good looking website! Keep that in mind.

2 Likes