What to learn next?

Hello

I am a PHP developer. I have been working on PHP over the last 3 years professionally.

Now I am planning to uplevel my skills. I want to learn something new programming language.

I have narrow down 3 programming languages to learn. I need your opinion about which one should be a wise decision to choose-

• Ruby
  • Python
  • NodeJs

Thank you.

JavaScript and Python are showing the biggest growth for the last 7 years and Ruby is slowly fading.

Python is used extensively in Data Science and Machine Learning. It is also used to create Backend APIs.

Node.js is used in microservices, serverless and Backend API’s.

It heavily depends on what you want to do going forward. Do you want to move into Data Science/Machine Learning or do you want to stick with Backend development? It also depends on what is used in the region you live in. My suggestion would be to check what is used in your region or the region you want to move to and then learn that.

2 Likes

I dont have any intention to move to data science / ML.

I want to stick with Backend Developer, but want to learn one more programming language that will boost up my career.

It might be helpful for me to get the better job and increase my salary :wink: .

1 Like

Node.js is growing the fastest at the moment and I personally prefer JavaScript. But Python is a really popular language and creating API’s with Flask is growing as well. I would suggest checking the growth and job opportunities in your general area to see what is used and what the salaries are at.

If you see Ruby and Ruby on Rails is used in your area and they pay extremely good salaries then it would be a good idea to learn it.

Making suggestions on what to learn is very subjective. The best is if you can see what is used a lot in your area and then focus on that.

Thanks again for your reply.

Yeah, of course, what to learn is most of the time depends on what I have in my mind to build next.