White space above and below image

Total CSS noob here. I am struggling to find a solution to making my background image and the transparent blue overlay to cover the full page. I used a margin of 0 in the body element, which removed white space on left and right. I also tried targeting the html and body with a min-height of 100%, among a few other attempts. Here is the link to my codepen if anyone can take a look at the code and shed some light:

https://codepen.io/TheTechLead/pen/LYRdLbM?editors=1100

use the selector * to select all elements and use box-sizing property like this

* {
   box-sizing: border-box;
   margin: 0;
}

you can read more about those two here
selector *
box-sizing property

happy coding! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks so much. That was a good catch! I now see the top of the image and overlay reaches the top of the page, with no white space. I do still see white space on the bottom of the viewport after making the correction, though.

No worries! I appreciate the recommend to check dev tools and was in the process of looking at those. Setting the height to 100vh seems to have helped, though I’ll need to see why white space appears at bottom when shrinking the screen to a tablet size. Work in progress, and thanks so much for your time.

wait wait i set height: 100vh to your div .darkLayer and shrank it. it worked. please try. i can’t trust my eyes

1 Like

I see the background-image and .darklayer both reach the bottom until it gets shrunk down to about five inches. I’m attaching a screenshot to see how it appears on my phone:

is that a textarea element? you may want to resize it a bit, it is that that is covering your background image

1 Like

Ok i just removed that height and set margin: 0; to the body. not sure what’s going on. i’m the phone right now and it seems ok but i can only see the difference in editor view. i can’t it’s behavior in full view till you make changes.
here is my form: https://codepen.io/fernie-cpu/pen/yLazBep