Workflow suggestions for limited coding time?

Hello! I started learning to code last July, and I’m a little embarrassed by how little progress I’ve made since then. (Especially when reading all of these “inspirational” stories of people breaking into the industry within six months to a year of starting!)

Even though I started coding a year ago, I haven’t been as consistent as I wanted to be. Looking over my habit tracker for coding, I seem to code consistently for about 2-3 months, then burn out and break from coding for another 2-3 months. If I were to add up all of the days I coded within the past year, I’d probably end up with only 4-5 months. When I do the math it’s no wonder I still feel like I can barely do anything!

Anyways, I feel like at a minimum I need to be putting in at least an hour a day, and I’m going to try pushing for two hours a day. So I guess this is my main question: if I only have two hours a day, what’s the best way to use that time?

I know the basics of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript (+ working with tools like the command line, npm, git, GitHub, sass, etc.). I’ve built several projects through Udemy courses, but never one on my own (except for a very bad attempt at the FCC “Tribute Page” project). Since I hear over and over again about the value of just jumping in and creating stuff, I thought I’d spend two hours a day just working on building as much as I can.

Problem is, I find myself sitting and scratching my head for most of those two hours. My code is a mess, and the knowledge I’ve gathered through all of these courses is a complete jumble in my head, too. I understand that this is a normal part of building something (especially something on your own, and above your current skill level), but I get really frustrated by the feeling that I’m wasting those two hours with nothing to show for it.