"You have an impressive background but unfortunately..."

Why do recruiters/hiring managers say this? How can they say your background/experience is impressive but decided not to proceed and move on with someone else without calling for an interview and talking about this ‘impressive background’?

I think it may be misleading and doesn’t help in my job search. I know its not their job to tell us what were not doing right or doing wrong but to say my experience was impressive and not talk to me makes me confuse.

(You can skip to the last paragraph if you don’t want to read about my background…)
Just to talk a little bit about my background, I started studying and learning web development in 2015 while I was working full-time at a hotel. And in November 2015, I saved up enough money to quit my job so that I could study full-time. For three months, I spent a minimum of 10 hours a day studying front end, and JavaScript - learning through FCC, and other online resources. I applied for Hack Reactor but didn’t pass the technical interview. I was given the another chance to apply again by building a project but I knew I didn’t have the finance and a bank wasn’t going to give me a loan because I had already owed money for my student loan. Plus, I didn’t know if I could afford not to use all my savings to pay rent in the Bay Area while I went to bootcamp. So the dreams of attending Hack Reactor wasn’t possible for me at the moment. I continued to study for those three months (using up my savings) and when I got comfortable with my skill set, I applied to jobs. Luckily, an opportunity came up and I was offered a position at a marketing agency as a web developer intern.