You should only use var?

(Nevermind, I think FCC just means declaring a variable like a = 4)

This is from this lesson

var

I find this a bit shocking. I’m new to coding but have read elsewhere you should only declare variables with let and const. The following is from Udacity’s front-end style guide:

Is there really this much disagreement about variable usage among the developing community?This is from this lesson"

1 Like

Yes, you are correct in both instances. When this was made, let and const weren’t around, so the point of this challenge isn’t what keyword to use but that you should always use a keyword when declaring variables. I would definitely agree with dropping usage of var altogether and primarily use const with let when needed.

In the beta version of the site, I believe this is taken care of in the ES6 section.

Also, you put (deleted) in the title, would you like me to hide the post?

2 Likes

Can I recommend leaving the thread here if OP doesn’t mind? It’s a good question and clears up an ambiguity in the wording of the challenge.

1 Like

Thanks for clearing that up. Happy to leave it in case it helps someone else! (Removed “deleted” from the title.)

Agreeing that let and const are “safer”. There really isn’t a reason to use var anymore, not that I can think of.

1 Like

What if you wanted your variable to be scoped to the nearest function block instead of the nearest enclosing block?

1 Like

Yes, but then you could just declare the variable in that outer function. I think this is clearer than using var inside a block somewhere where it isn’t immediately obvious what the true scope is. A var declaration could be 1, 2, or 27 blocks deep. With let, it’s more clear, imho.

I remember an article where two opposite opinion was reported.

Ok, here it is:
JavaScript ES6 for Beginners #1 — Var vs Let vs Const & the temporal dead zone
Is that correct?