I started FreecodeCamp two years ago. Here’s my story

This is a followup of a post I wrote a year ago about my status one year after starting FFC. As promised, here is the status.

When I wrote the post last year, I had time to work on projects for free; I was discovering VueJS and testing various JS backend frameworks as FeatherJS and Sails, working on personal projects mixing technologies. I worked for free for people I met on IRC or in meetings, and the school I which I was as a student asked me to… teach.

Teaching

The school offer was about teaching web development to people in re-conversion; a three-month intensive course; 35h/week with total beginners. I don’t know if you ever tried to prepare courses for 13 students, and stand in front of them for 53h a week for three months, but it’s a really challenging experience. I asked a high level of dedication from them, and I gave my free time to them through Gitter channels (nights and weekends).

The goal was to go from “discovering HTML” to “build an application with a PHP framework”, using virtual machines, Git, CSS, etc…

It was really hard for them and for me, but it was a good time.

After this, I got a raise and they asked me to handle other classes, a few days per month. So I had free time again and it was october.

Working for free ?

I worked on the Frab project, a Ruby on rails conference management system for people I met in meetings. Ruby, and Ruby on rails were new to me, so I worked on translations, mainly.

I met people from the Happy Dev network and joined it. It’s a french network of freelancers, with a big Rocketchat instance to centralize and dispatch incoming jobs. I spent a lot of time speaking with people, and one day, a big VueJS project pointed its nose. Short deadline, given the functionalities, but really interesting to do. I jumped on the occasion.